Some from our archives: A look into the past of Cromer's iconic lighthouse
PUBLISHED: 10:14 16 February 2018 | UPDATED: 11:07 16 February 2018
Cromer’s lighthouse is one of the defining features of our town’s beautiful piece of coastline.
Cromer Lighthouse. Picture: Archant Library
In this week’s gallery we look at the face of our beloved lighthouse through the years.
An exterior view Cromer Lighthouse shows the 120-year-old lantern house a couple of years before its demolition and replacement with a modern light, April 1956. Picture: Archant Library
Principal lighthouse keeper Mr. J. W. Smith changing one of the huge valves in the automatic radio beacon which was used to send out Morse signals twice every half hour in clear weather and ever six minutes in fog, November 1952. Picture: Archant Library
Principal keeper Mr J W Smith in the Watch Room keeps up his log, which recorded changing weather patterns during any 24-hour period. Mr. Smith had spent 42 years in the service when this picture was taken, the fourth generation of his family to be a lighthouse keeper, November 1952. Picture: Archant Library
Much time is spent on polishing the 14 silver-lined 21-inch reflectors, and assistant keeper of Cromer Lighthouse, Mr. C. H. Cherrett is pictured at the daily task. The Lighthouse was unique in Britain at the time in still having the last of the reflector-type optics, which in design went back to the oil-burning lighthouse days of the previous century , November 1952. Picture: Archant Library
Cromer lighthouse. Picture: Archant Library